AP Gov. Aftermath

This past week I truly felt the effects of taking this online AP Government class. Personally, I know I’ve learned an extensive amount of information that has provided me with a better understanding of current events in the United States and the world and has prepared me to take the AP test in May, but in my day-to-day life, I hadn’t applied the knowledge attained through this course up until two weeks ago.

One of the perks of going to a small prestigious all-girls school in Hawaii is the endless amount of opportunities that are available for the students, which is similar to my experience at an online school for girls. All-girls’ schools provide an intimate learning environment that isn’t offered at many coed schools. For example, my school in Hawaii has a close connection with the YWCA of Oahu CEO, so the senior class was invited to participate in the YWCA of Oahu’s Women’s History Month Series. The Women’s History Month Series is a new program at the YWCA that aims to celebrate and inform women on significant issues regarding women through informational sessions. The topics of these sessions include currently debated topics women’s such as reproductive rights, women’s voting rights, women in the workplace, and women in the military. Each session also provides information on the history of each topic and an update on the current day status.

The topics of the first two sessions of the Women’s History Month Series were women’s reproductive rights and voting rights, a topic that I am well informed of because it was covered during a previous unit of AP Government, “Civil Liberties and Civil Rights.” In the sessions, I found myself being better informed than my peers and even many of the businesswomen who were also attending because of what I had learned in this class. I was especially interested in the session on reproductive rights because I had done a presentation on the controversial Roe v. Wade court case, so I could be more engaged in the lesson. The speaker covered other court cases that I recognized from class such as Griswold v. Connecticut and Maher v. Roe. Many of my classmates did not understand how important court cases are to government and history, so this section did not enthrall them.

Even though we’ve only completed three units so far in AP Government, I’ve begun to find that it has made me more aware and knowledgeable of current events and history.

Here is a video of the women’s reproductive rights session: http://vimeo.com/37775831

Celebrating Women’s Reproductive Rights 030112 from YWCA Oahu on Vimeo.

6 comments

  1. This is a fantastic post – love that you are connecting that Government and History classes apply to real life. Understanding this is making you a better citizen who can inform others about the importance of why we should study court cases and current events. AP courses are extremely difficult, and I applaud your hard work.

    Like

    • Hello! Thank you so much for your response and encouragement! Studying history and court cases has really helped me understand how things work in modern day government and politics. I was really excited when my learning in this class helped me in a real life situation.

      Thanks again,
      Hannah

      Like

  2. Hello Hannah,

    With every post on the OSG’s AP U.S. Government & Politics blog, I have found quality in the information and reasoning they have provided the reader. Your post again reinforces my belief in the significance of the online course you are doing. It awakens willing minds to the power of individuals to have influence in government.

    Not being familiar with the Roe v. Wade court case, I did a little research and found it related to a woman’s right to decide on an abortion. I know the viability of a foetus was also considered in setting limits on abortion. Viability set at 28 weeks or even 24 weeks is interesting. As our technology increases in capability the issue of viability may have to be reconsidered. From what I have read, the earliest premature baby to survive was born at 21 weeks and 6 days. Although this was considered a “miracle” it may one day be more common.

    Similar cases to Roe versus Wade (although I can’t cite any of hand) have also occurred in Australia and, like the US, there can still be heated debate over what’s considered the woman’s right to choose over the rights of the unborn child.

    “What is freedom? Freedom is the right to choose: the right to create for yourself the alternatives of choice. Without the possibility of choice and the exercise of choice a man is not a man but a member, an instrument, a thing.”
    Archibald MacLeish

    My personal belief is a woman should have the right to choose. In modern societies claiming to cherish freedom, this must be so. With choice, the right is there to have an abortion or not. A hypothetical… if I were in the position of needing to choose, I would hope I considered all the options and took advice into consideration before making a decision as important as this.

    As you found, court cases set precedents. Their findings can lead to changes in law.

    @RossMannell
    Teacher, NSW, Australia

    Like

    • Hello! Thank you so much for your response. I agree with you that the posts by my classmates on this blog are extremely informative and interesting! Every blog post is unique to each writer and we have all improved with each post. Thank you for applying the Roe v. Wade court case to other court cases in Australia because I’m really interested in how different countries deal with controversial issues. “As you found, court cases set precedents. Their findings can lead to changes in law.” This statement really focused my thoughts on court cases into one sentence.

      Thanks again,
      Hannah

      Like

  3. Hi Hannah,

    Great post! It sounds like you have definitely been applying what you learn in your online AP US Government in other areas. That will definitely help you retain that information in the long run, and, given all the current events lately, you will be better informed to create your own opinions on what you think should and should not happen now and in future elections.

    One note – check the syntax in the second to last sentence of Paragraph 2. I think a preposition might be missing?

    Keep up the great work!

    Like

    • Hi Heather! Thank you so much for your response and sorry about my grammatical error in the last sentence of Paragraph 2! Mr. Gwaltney has really stressed applying what we learn in AP US Government to current events because it will be very beneficial to retaining information for the upcoming AP exam.

      Thanks again,
      Hannah

      Like

Leave a Reply

